Eating bass?

xdss
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Eating bass?

Post by xdss » Thu Jun 20, 2013 11:07 pm

Does anyone here ever eat the bass they catch? IMO I don't really agree with eating bass, I view them as JUST a game fish (almost like a football is to football) I prefer to take a quick pic of them and release it quickly to be caught anotherday... Im asking because I have a few Asian friends who eat bass (and everything else they catch) :?

Zimbass
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Re: Eating bass?

Post by Zimbass » Thu Jun 20, 2013 11:24 pm

I have been telling people for many years that eating bass makes them go blind !!

Never kill a bass, and nor do most of the people I know. There are those that will eat one that is dead at the weigh-in, but I do not condone those that eat them. Bit like eating your pet !!!!!

Of course those that do, should be respected, and encouraged to practice selective harvest.

jpd0144
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Post by jpd0144 » Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:10 am

Zimbass wrote:
Of course those that do, should be respected, and encouraged to practice selective harvest.
=D>

cndbasshunter
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Post by cndbasshunter » Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:18 am

just saw a guy post a pic of his livewell dry with over 16 largemouth. Disgusting!!!

steve1206
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Post by steve1206 » Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:36 am

In most cases I say no way, but we have put the knife to them a few times...Always in small bodies of water (farm ponds) where population control is the issue and fish have become stunted and need thinned out....but its been quite a while

jpd0144
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Post by jpd0144 » Fri Jun 21, 2013 1:37 am

steve1206 wrote:In most cases I say no way, but we have put the knife to them a few times...Always in small bodies of water (farm ponds) where population control is the issue and fish have become stunted and need thinned out....but its been quite a while
My thoughts exactly Steve ...