How do you rate these TDZ/Steez/IS spools

This is the place to talk shop about all the enthusiast and import tackle for the truly afflicted
kakaryan
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

How do you rate these TDZ/Steez/IS spools

Post by kakaryan » Wed Feb 13, 2013 11:19 am

Recently I have bought a used TD-ito and hopefully it's on the way to me. Haven't been using any TDZ/Steez before so I am new to the TDZ platform. As having been in tt for some time, I generally know how do the spools differ. But with many newer/better spools being available, some previous comments and thoughts might be outdated so I would like to throw out the mix again and hear your thoughts. Eg. Which is your favourite?/the best?/for what applications? Which is a "must have"? Which older spool still performs as good as its newer cousins?

Here is the information that I gathered through time.

TDZ Type R/TD-ito 103: with Type R tuning which is the fastest 30,000rpm but required an expert thumb? (I will get this soon and cant wait to see whether my thumb is skillful enough or not :D )

TDZ Type R+: With a bit more braking force which is easier to control than the Type R.

TDZ 105: Shallower and lighter than 103, which is good for finesse. (I guess this is outdated after the release of the Megabass IS finesse spool? Still a cheaper option though.)

ZPI's: fixed inductor...?

Steez 103: Good for pitching and finesse. But kinda "wild child"?

Steez 100: Good for all around casting application.

Steez HLC: Nth special than standard Steez spool.

T3/RCS1016/1012: Surprisingly cast better than standard Steez spools.

Megabasss IS finesse spool: probably the best finesse spool available today.

Steez/T3 SV: Available in June. Performance unknown yet.