Did I score?

Show off your latest and greatest catch, purchase, or acquisition with fellow TT Forum members.
uljersey
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Did I score?

Post by uljersey » Fri Oct 09, 2015 10:37 am

I've been looking for a rod to pair up with my new Daiwa Alphas SV105 and had decided on a Major Craft Volkey. I decided on the 7' Big Lake Custom Series ML. In my search for a place to buy it from I stumbled on Amazon of all places :?

$130 shipped from Japan ... Sounds almost too good to be true but I have the order confirmation on my email. The price on Major Craft's site was 18,800 yen, which is roughly $156 US dollars.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008FS ... ge_o00_s00

That's about $100 cheaper than any other place I had found. This is my first time buying a JDM rod from Japan, I have no clue what happened. Maybe Amazon goofed, I don't know. I can't wait :big grin:

zodiak311
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Re: Did I score?

Post by zodiak311 » Fri Oct 09, 2015 2:05 pm

Let us know how it fishes!

uljersey
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Post by uljersey » Fri Oct 16, 2015 6:46 am

It was waiting for me when I got home from work. 7 days from order to arrival, I'm impressed. The packaging had me a bit uneasy, it's a long way from Japan to New Jersey in a flimsy cardboard mailer, but it survived. I'm blown away by the overall quality and workmanship. We'll see how it does come Sunday ...

zodiak311
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Post by zodiak311 » Fri Oct 16, 2015 8:13 am

Nice! 8-)

legendaryyaj
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Post by legendaryyaj » Fri Oct 16, 2015 11:09 am

Is that a one piece too?

I would've shat my pants seeing a rod come in a box like that. I'd say you got pretty lucky on the find and shipping!

uljersey
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Post by uljersey » Fri Oct 16, 2015 12:26 pm

legendaryyaj wrote:Is that a one piece too?

I would've shat my pants seeing a rod come in a box like that. I'd say you got pretty lucky on the find and shipping!