Decoy egg snaps questions???

Anything and everything related to fishing tackle. If you cannot find the sub-category for your topic, go ahead and post it in here!
Welikan
Angler
Angler

Decoy egg snaps questions???

Post by Welikan » Sat Apr 25, 2020 10:34 am

So I've been using these egg snaps for about 2 months now. The smaller sized ones like the size 1 and 1.5 seem a little flimsy. Good at first but putting lures on is a pain. Taking them off is more of a pain. I found myself having to slightly bend them to take lures off. Anyways catching some fish on my 110 I noticed that the snap came undone and was bent. Worries me that they can come undone and I can lose some expensive baits. The bigger sized snaps for bigbaits seem like they don't have this problem.

Anyone else notice this?
Have any tips for putting lures on and taking them off using these snaps?

Houndfish
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Re: Decoy egg snaps questions???

Post by Houndfish » Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:06 am

I use them a lot, the smaller 1 and 1.5 for spoons and UL hardbaits and the 3 and 4 sizes for frogs and smaller glidebaits. The trick I have found with the smaller ones is that you have to pick and choose which lures you use them on, some lures will have a line tie that isn't suitable for them for the reasons you mentioned. The only advice I can give is to buy a pack of each size and keep trying them to see which size is best for which lure.

Dispet being fussy, they are the only snaps I have found that I can stand. They don't seem to pick up debris more then just a direct tie and using them on frogs has been amazing so far, I can walk any frog on any rod from any angle with the snaps and they come through cover just as well as the bare frog. I have yet to have one fail or open up, but I am very very careful about stressing them when adding or removing a lure.

Welikan
Angler
Angler

Post by Welikan » Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:16 am

Houndfish wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:06 am