Daiwa Fuego Casting Reel

Reels are the hottest topic for TackleTour. Everyone wants to know what the latest and greatest is and how they compare to the old guard. What's the best for light stuff, or what's your suggestion for heavy cover. Do we really need different retrieve ratios? It's all in here.
Bass Junkie
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Daiwa Fuego Casting Reel

Post by Bass Junkie » Sun Apr 22, 2012 1:50 pm

What do you guys think bout the Daiwa Fuego Casting reel? If it a decent reel for supertuning? Also,what kind of upgrades are being done to it? I'm new to supertuning/modifying and am looking at a reel to start with. Opinions? Thanks- BJ

biggs
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Re: Daiwa Fuego Casting Reel

Post by biggs » Sun Apr 22, 2012 2:35 pm

The Fuego is an excellent choice to start supertuning and stock is a nice reel. Pretty much any upgrade that can be done, can be done to a Fuego.

I have 3 Fuegos and love them, I wouldn't say they are supertuned but they are tuned with OS bearings, carbonex washers, 4bb CF handles and one was custom painted.
Instagram @___bradb

Bass Junkie
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Post by Bass Junkie » Sun Apr 22, 2012 2:38 pm

Cool! Thanks for the information. On a slightly different note, can the PX Type R 6.8:1 gear ratio fit in a Fuego? Anyways, thanks for the info so far! What shallow/finesse spools, if any, are available for the Fuego?

bstuckey
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Post by bstuckey » Sun Apr 22, 2012 2:56 pm

Biggs hit the mark with the Boca Orange Seal Bearings, Carbontex Drag upgrade and 4 bearing handle. I would also consider adding a TDZ-100M or HLC spool and replacing the bushing in the level-wind/worm-gear. The Fuego is a reel that responds well to these upgrades.

Bass Junkie
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Post by Bass Junkie » Sun Apr 22, 2012 3:05 pm