High Speed Reels 8:1 Plus?

Reels are the hottest topic for TackleTour. Everyone wants to know what the latest and greatest is and how they compare to the old guard. What's the best for light stuff, or what's your suggestion for heavy cover. Do we really need different retrieve ratios? It's all in here.
KDogg14
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

High Speed Reels 8:1 Plus?

Post by KDogg14 » Thu Jan 30, 2020 5:29 pm

I've been using a baitcaster since I was 13 years old. I'm 42 right now. I have definitely seen the improvements on the casting reel throughout the years. I have a couple of 7:1 reels which I like. The trend seems to be going higher and higher. I couldn't picture myself using an 8:1 ratio plus. I could always get away with a 6 something gear ratio for almost every thing I throw. The only exception would be a 5 ratio for deep diving crankbaits. The benefit I see with an 8:1 plus gear ratio would be throwing frogs. Am I missing out on not using a 8:1 plus ratio?

fishes
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Re: High Speed Reels 8:1 Plus?

Post by fishes » Thu Jan 30, 2020 5:52 pm

I have a handful of reels that are 8:1 and soon will have one thats 9:1 (though its gonna be a steez air with a tiny spool so its not all that fast). The real benefit to me is saving time reeling my lure in to make another cast. I mostly use the higher ratios for bottom contact lures where Im casting at structure or in a very specific strike zone and once my lure is out of that zone I am able to quickly reel my lure in and make another cast. I do prefer reels in the 6:1 range for general use but theres definitely an advantage to higher ratios for bottom contact in my opinion

Drakestar
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Post by Drakestar » Fri Jan 31, 2020 11:49 am