What's the best all around baitcaster??

Reels are the hottest topic for TackleTour. Everyone wants to know what the latest and greatest is and how they compare to the old guard. What's the best for light stuff, or what's your suggestion for heavy cover. Do we really need different retrieve ratios? It's all in here.
bigslobs
Newbie Angler
Newbie Angler

What's the best all around baitcaster??

Post by bigslobs » Sat Jun 06, 2020 9:58 am

Hello, this is my first time buying an "expensive reel". I currently use a match 2 lew's combo and want to upgrade to something that will hopefully make my fishing experience more enjoyable. Since I don't own a boat I only bank fish so bringing multiple rods would be very cumbersome. I'm looking for a baitcaster which I can use for everything. I'm aware no one baitcaster can do it all but there is probably something out there that can do almost everything pretty well. My research has led me to new tatula sv tw or the Shimano curado dc; however, I am open to any suggestions.

P.s. I'm not trying to start a debate between those to reels, those just seem to be the ones I hear the most

LowRange
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Re: What's the best all around baitcaster??

Post by LowRange » Sat Jun 06, 2020 10:01 am

The Curado DC is going to be skewed towards heavier baits and the Tatula SV towards lighter baits with a lot of overlap in between. They exist and opposite ends of the spectrum. What types of baits do you fish or plan on fishing? This will help to point you in the right direction.

CGrinder
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Post by CGrinder » Sat Jun 06, 2020 10:09 am

The new SV TW does everything from a weightless fluke to a 3/4 oz lipless. I don't know how much more all round you could want. With the heavier baits, distance is excellent; no choked off spool like some other SV reels.

LowRange
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Post by LowRange » Sat Jun 06, 2020 10:18 am