Still trying to dial in Met 20 JDM casting settings

Reels are the hottest topic for TackleTour. Everyone wants to know what the latest and greatest is and how they compare to the old guard. What's the best for light stuff, or what's your suggestion for heavy cover. Do we really need different retrieve ratios? It's all in here.
green weenie
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Still trying to dial in Met 20 JDM casting settings

Post by green weenie » Mon Jul 10, 2023 11:23 am

Hey all! I’ve been using these reels for about 6 months now but still don’t think I’m getting everything out of them that I can. I have them set on a slow controlled tension knob, 2 brakes on-across, and still need to be on 3-4 to keep from fluffing. I’m using different sizes of YGK upgrade x8. I want to have a little more aggressive settings increase distance and loosen up that spool tension as it restricts reel turn smoothness to some degree-no free spin when turned quickly and released, if that makes sense

Thanks in advance

Wes

KOmar
Angler
Angler

Re: Still trying to dial in Met 20 JDM casting settings

Post by KOmar » Mon Jul 10, 2023 1:13 pm

Ygk Upgrade is too soft for BC

dragon1
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Post by dragon1 » Mon Jul 10, 2023 9:26 pm

KOmar wrote:
Mon Jul 10, 2023 1:13 pm
Ygk Upgrade is too soft for BC
Just this morning, I was using the 40lb YGK + 15lb Tatsu leader with my Ian tuned Steez Limited SV 105, the spool has a Type R+ spring and German GRW bearing, and I was slinging a 1/3 oz Zip N Ziggy a damn good distance with excellent control...so it may not be the YGK unless he's using a really low test rating. Honestly, I think 45lb & 50lb YGK X8 Upgrade would do better on most BC reels.

Sorry no input from me on how to set up your Met 20, aside maybe trying different brake block sizes?
"It is like a finger pointing away to the Moon...don't concentrate on the finger, or you will miss all of that heavenly glory."

green weenie
Senior Angler
Senior Angler