My intro & Looking for good all purpose baitcast setup.

The heart and soul of TackleTour. It is, afterall, all about the tackle. Select your subforum of choice and start sharing and asking information, and if you can't figure out which is the right one, choose "General".
CDN_Crankbaiter
Newbie Angler
Newbie Angler

My intro & Looking for good all purpose baitcast setup.

Post by CDN_Crankbaiter » Thu May 24, 2007 12:55 pm

Afternoon,

The name is Jay, 31 from Brampton, Ontario Canada - 20 minutes outside of Toronto. 1st year Carpenter by trade. Love my fishing, and try to get out when I have a spare hour or so - have my father to thank for the intro to this favorite past time. Even if I don't catch anything, it's the getting out part that matters most IMO. Practices C&R only - let em get bigger have more fish!

Favorite Lure: Crankbait (Rapala DT-6 series in Red Craw / Firetiger).

Favorite Cover: Lily pads are my favorite cover to fish w/ a 5" Senko (222 color).

Finally decided to take the plunge and register with the forum. Been a TT review reader since about 2001, and have used the forum as a reliable source for helping to improve my fishing tactics, and expanding my knowledge for the past year. Seems like a great group of members here! Hopefully I can chime in and offer some help to others.

Lastly, I'm thinking of putting together a baitcast rod/reel combo for Bass/Pike that would allow me to fish a wide range of lures. My go to lures are crankbaits med, shallow running, and soft plastics like the Senko. I'd like to branch out and try gaining confidence in pitching jigs w/trailers, and spinner baits this year - these are my least favorite lures to use.

I've been looking at a St. Croix ACMHF 6'6" rod, and Shimano Chronarch 101B reel. Maybe w/ 12lb SpiderWire XXX Super Mono?

Thanks ahead of time.

CDN_Crankbaiter

Redfisher18
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Re: My intro & Looking for good all purpose baitcast set

Post by Redfisher18 » Thu May 24, 2007 1:34 pm