Breaking in the TDA advantage ST

The heart and soul of TackleTour. It is, afterall, all about the tackle. Select your subforum of choice and start sharing and asking information, and if you can't figure out which is the right one, choose "General".
aquaholik
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Breaking in the TDA advantage ST

Post by aquaholik » Mon Feb 07, 2005 3:26 pm

It's hard to pass up the $30 coupon from Cabelas so I added this reel to my arsenal. Yes I know Daiwa said this reel should not be use in saltwater. I have used the TDZ in salt and see no problem with it. The Scorpion 1000 is another story, the spool caked up with what looks like calcium deposit but after some lime away and WD-40, it still casts very well despite the spool's appearance.

First thing was to spool it with 8lb diameter(13lb test) Tectan line. I have been using this line for 2 years on some of my baitcast reels and my advice is that don't waste your money. It's no smoother or stronger than a Berkeley Trilene XL. I wanted to vary the spool diameter and see how it cast with various line level before I put braided line on it.

After about 4 trips with some winter trouts in deeper pot holes around Fort DeSoto, here's some pic:Image
Half of the trouts have been to big too keep, only one fish allowed that is over 20 inches.

Casting distance with 1/8 oz jig head is great with a light wind behind your back but not as well as the Scorpion 1000. Mag setting was about 5 with a full spool of line. After stripping off about 50 yds, I can lower mag setting to about 3.5 and it does cast better with less line and less magnetic brake applied. IMHO, best setting is not to cast it hands free with a lot of braking, but to use the least amount of magnetic braking so that it fuzzes up the middle of the cast. After tuning this in, apply a little thumb during the cast as soon as it fuzzes up and you can achieve a little better distance. I suspect this reel cast better with some limp 12-14lb test mono.