Calling all soft jerk bait fanatics

It all started with the plastic worm and has now mutated into a huge array of specialized offerings. Whose is the best and which one is your favorite? Come share your thoughts and opinions here.
Hogsticker2
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Calling all soft jerk bait fanatics

Post by Hogsticker2 » Sun Jun 22, 2014 5:06 am

K, so as long as I've been fishing I just started playing with fluke style baits. I know, crazy. I'm looking for bait specific info.
1) Which bait do you like for fishing surface or just sub surface?
2) Which bait are you using that has a slower sink rate?
3) Which bait do you like in the faster sinking variety?
4) Do any baits dart or twitch better than others?

I'm looking for all. One that is pretty buoyant and doesn't want to sink like a rock. One that has a slower sink rate, one that sinks pretty fast to use on and just above bottom, one that is ultra twitchy, and one that darts side to side. I'm sure certain baits have different trigger tripping characteristics, but hopefully we can narrow it down to just a few that will work and accomplish all the above. It's hard to tell how dense the plastic is without holding it. Lastly, which baits have excelled for you in cool or warm water? I'm thinking about picking up a pack of each of these to start playing. Feel free to provide any info on any of these baits, or any others you really like. I have the standard fair in Zoom flukes and SK Caffeine shads. I plan on fishing these weightless for the time being. I have a grip of skip gap hooks. Would you recommend a different hook, or will these be fine? I'm also gonna do some nose hooking and see how it goes. I'm having a killer rod built that will be perfect for this :big grin:

Bass Assassin straight and split tail shads
Big Bite Baits jerk minnow
Keitech shad impact
Lunker City Fin-S fish
Netbait super twitch

Hogsticker2
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Re: Calling all soft jerk bait fanatics