Kayaks & Fishfinder's

Come share your backwater or even blue water success and help others learn more about fishing from a 'yak.
Fastfish
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Kayaks & Fishfinder's

Post by Fastfish » Mon Jan 02, 2012 10:45 am

I'm using a M68c currently but am looking at upgrading sometime this spring hopefully so I wanna hear what you all are using my M68c works gr8 but I just want something new some of the newest finder's show incredible detail and if ya go with a 5" screen you can have top of the line imaging and have it fit on a Kayak.

Fastfish

MidTNKayakAngler
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Re: Kayaks & Fishfinder's

Post by MidTNKayakAngler » Tue Jan 03, 2012 7:06 am

I have been using the Humminbird 383C for the past two years. A local kayak angler was looking for a fish finder, and I ended up opening my mouth selling him mine, and all the mounting hardware, and installing it for him.

So now I'm in the market again. I'll probably stay with Humminbird and go with the 798ci HD SI, or the 788ci HD DI. I'm just not sure which one, still researching, but I do want the 5" display, and side imaging, or down imaging. I thought about Lowrance but with the features I want it wouldn't be feasable having to have two transducers. I must have something very protable that I can move from kayak to kayak within minutes, or just remove completely in minutes.

Jeremy
Hook1 Crew
KBF Unleashed Member

Chewy
Angler
Angler

Post by Chewy » Tue Jan 03, 2012 3:42 pm

I just purchased a Hobie Revo 13 and having a HB 597 ci hd di installed. I'll let you know how it goes.

MidTNKayakAngler- how are you mounting the transducer on the kayak for si? I thought about it, but after lots of consideration, I didn't want to hang it over the side (don't think si works through hull).

Cheers,

Drewgill
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Post by Drewgill » Wed Jan 04, 2012 1:52 pm

Chewy,