My new custom extreme ultralight

When production rods are not enough, it's time to go custom. Come share your experiences building and/or ordering a custom rod and tell us if you'll ever go back to off the shelf.
NCbigbass
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

My new custom extreme ultralight

Post by NCbigbass » Tue May 17, 2011 10:09 am

Well I just read Joe Robinson's "piscatorial absurdities" about extreme ultralight fishing, mainly for trout and smallmouth, and it inspired me to build this rod. Keep in mind my camera is 7 or 8 years old and I am not very good with it either. Mr. Robinson suggests building the ultimate ultralight spinning rod on a 6' 2 or 3 weight fly rod blank. I chose the St. Croix SCIV/SCII blank which they use for the imperial fly rod series. It is a 6' 2 weight 2 piece fast action that weighs .6 ounces bare. It is ideal for throwing the little 1/32 ounce size 1 Panther Martin spinners, and hand-tied 1/64 and 1/32 ounce marabou jigs that I have used for years. Other specs are as follows:
Fuji Titanium frame Sic micros. The thread looks pink in pics but it is only slightly lighter than the burgundy blank. I used 7 guides plus the tip (16, 8L, 5, then 3.5's to the tip). I opted for a 8" tennessee handle with the rod wrap as I love the weight savings and simplicity it offers. For now, I have a Shimano Sienna 500 on it, and before you laugh, look at a parts diagram for this reel compared to the Sedona, Sahara, or Symetre 500, and tell me it is not basically the same reel. I have put a carbontex washer in the spool (the 500's only have one), and have it spooled with Trilene XL 2 pound test. Caught a bunch of bluegill yesterday with it, was an absolute ball. I hooked something that I fought for at least 5 minutes and never even saw, I could not get it to come up. My little rod was doubled over! I am thinking it was a 5-6 pound bass, but I will never know because it finally broke me off in some brush. Anyways, thought I would share.

cst
Elite Angler