Spiral wrapped rod question?

When production rods are not enough, it's time to go custom. Come share your experiences building and/or ordering a custom rod and tell us if you'll ever go back to off the shelf.
LPFC
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Spiral wrapped rod question?

Post by LPFC » Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:33 pm

What advantage do you have with such a rod?

Doesn't the spiral wrap sort of weaken the rod? I've built a few rods, by far I'm no expert, but I was taught that the eyes have to be placed on the "spine". I'm just talking about a bait casting rod.

I'm starting to think about winter projects and I think i"m going to build a nice rod. Spiral wrap sounds interesting but I'm concerned about the strength.

Also how do you place the eyes according to the spine?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you, Tony

After posting this question I see at the verrrrrry top of this section, SPIRAL WRAP setup, :doh: to myself.

Mattman
TT Gear Crew
TT Gear Crew
Location: Fergus Falls, MN - Otterods - Hand Crafted High Performance Fishing Rods

Re: Spiral wrapped rod question?

Post by Mattman » Thu Jul 19, 2012 4:55 pm

LPFC wrote: What advantage do you have with such a rod?
Benefits to spiral wrapping as I see it…
1. Eliminate rod torque. With the guides on the bottom the pressure from the fish isn’t trying to spin the guides to the underside of the blank because they are already there and there is no twisting torque applied to the blank.
2. Eliminate line scrub. With a guides on top rod when you flex the rod the line can then touch the blank.
3. Reduction in weight. With a spiral wrap since line scrub isn’t an issue, fewer guides can be used. That helps with weight. With a spiral wrap single foot guides can be used even on the heaviest rods since there is no side pressure on the guides. The loss of an extra foot, thread and finish is a big help with the reduction in weight.