spinning rod suggestions?

When production rods are not enough, it's time to go custom. Come share your experiences building and/or ordering a custom rod and tell us if you'll ever go back to off the shelf.
Jason Penn
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

spinning rod suggestions?

Post by Jason Penn » Mon Sep 16, 2019 9:41 am

i'm planning a good spinning rod as my next major purchase. i was thinking the 7' m steez ags, but then it occured to me that all builders have access to the reel seat daiwa uses on spinning, just not the airbeam casting seats. i'm pretty much stuck buying daiwa for casting rods.

i'm pretty sure i can pick up the steez for around $400. anyone have a suggestion for what may possibly be a better rod? i would kinda like to have it actually a 6'9 or 6'10 m power fast action rod.

i have no builders in my area and i still haven't tried my hand at it, although i do have some equipment. i have these big plans on starting, then i remember i'm not very good at tedious things.

ogrich31
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Re: spinning rod suggestions?

Post by ogrich31 » Mon Sep 16, 2019 7:23 pm

Rodshop.pl has Daiwa casting reel seats.

Also, there are many high end blanks you can choose from: Point Blank, Phenix K2, NFC X-ray. What are you using the rod for? What line type and size?

Jason Penn
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Post by Jason Penn » Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:11 am

thanks for the heads up on the reel seats. i wish they had the airbeam, but they just have the squid.

this rod will be used for 1/8-1/4 jigheads, either w a finesse worm or small swimbait, and also some dropshot with probably 1/4 or 3/8oz weights. i've got an old ml daiwa fuego that works well for all the lighter stuff. line will be 6#-8# straight fc

edwelch1
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Post by edwelch1 » Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:26 am