Point Blank Rod for Football Jigs

When production rods are not enough, it's time to go custom. Come share your experiences building and/or ordering a custom rod and tell us if you'll ever go back to off the shelf.
TheBassinPanda
Newbie Angler
Newbie Angler

Point Blank Rod for Football Jigs

Post by TheBassinPanda » Wed Jun 10, 2020 9:31 pm

Hey guys,

I've heard a lot of great things about Point Blank rod blanks and how great they are. I'm looking for a really sensitive heavy football jig rod to throw 1/2oz to 3/4oz jigs. I was looking at 7'6" size rod and need some advice on choosing between the PB761MHF vs PB761HF rods.

The PB761MHF is supposed to be a Med Hvy but has a lure rating up to 1 1/4oz, which seems fairly high for a Med Hvy rod.

The PB761HF is supposed to be a Heavy rod but has a lure rating from 1 to 2oz, which seems kind of excessive for what I want.

I have zero experience with Point Blank rods and when I emailed them for a suggestion they just copied and pasted the description from their website.

Thanks

toddmc
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Re: Point Blank Rod for Football Jigs

Post by toddmc » Thu Jun 11, 2020 10:04 am

I have the 761HF. This should fit the bill. I wouldn't buy the MH. I have two of the 701MHF and they start to get overpowered at 3/4 ounce. The 761HF has a pretty light tip. It starts getting overpowered at 1 ounce punch weights. 3/4 punch weights/jigs work well. The Point Blank rods have such a thick butt section that I think it fools people about how smooth and light their tips are. Don't pay attention to their lure ratings. I am perplexed as to how they came up with them.

TheBassinPanda
Newbie Angler
Newbie Angler

Post by TheBassinPanda » Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:28 pm

toddmc wrote:
Thu Jun 11, 2020 10:04 am