Keys to building light and sensitive rods

When production rods are not enough, it's time to go custom. Come share your experiences building and/or ordering a custom rod and tell us if you'll ever go back to off the shelf.
amso4
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Keys to building light and sensitive rods

Post by amso4 » Fri Jun 19, 2020 2:46 pm

I am a new builder getting started. So far I gave built 3 and am now getting more ambitious.
I picked up an Xray MB733 and 736 and am planning out what to use to make them as light as possible and get the most out of the blank's sensitivity. The 736 will be a bottom contact rod and the 733 will be for worming.

I notice on my NRX and conquest that they use a minimalist exposed blank reel seat. I think that is key to low weight. Unfortunately, I cannot find anything other than the Minima seat that is similar. What is the best option for a seat that meets the main design criteria of light and sensitive? Is the Minima the best option? So far I have used the Fuji Ecsm, but it weighs 0.95 oz and barely exposes the blank for the first finger past the trigger.

As for guides I was thinking using the Fuji KW and KT going 7, 6, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5. with the Black Ti SIC models. Not sure about these and if they are worth the cost.

I hope some of you more experienced builders can cast some thoughts about these builds an help get me heading in the right direction. My longer term plans are to replace all of my NRX, Conquest, Xtasy and Daiwa AGS rods with ones that I build. For now I need to learn what parts are needed to meet or exceed the lightness and sensitivity of these higher end rods as replacements.

I am looking forward to comments and suggestions.
Dave, Towson Md.

Mattman
TT Gear Crew
TT Gear Crew
Location: Fergus Falls, MN - Otterods - Hand Crafted High Performance Fishing Rods

Re: Keys to building light and sensitive rods

Post by Mattman » Sat Jun 20, 2020 4:00 am

My thoughts after 500+ rods...