How do you clean ball bearings?

Here's your chance to speak directly with the TT Gear Crew. Post your questions, comments, experiences regarding tackle maintenance and super tuning
progressive816
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

How do you clean ball bearings?

Post by progressive816 » Sun Apr 16, 2006 9:36 pm

i'd like to clean the gunk that's in my ball bearing housing. i was thinking about brake cleaner or some kind of solvent but am afraid it would actually damage the bearings.
My goal is to remove all the old grease and oils off my reel and apply new lube and grease. I've never done this before so any suggestions or opinions would be greatly appreciated.

fishingfe
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Re: How do you clean ball bearings?

Post by fishingfe » Sun Apr 16, 2006 10:55 pm

I use a R/C car greaser,you can find those in hobby-shop,it's about $40

TOPWATER
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Post by TOPWATER » Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:07 am

Look into Acetone.

bigpapajim
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Post by bigpapajim » Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:08 am

people have stated that they use lighter fluid (Ronson?) and then stick them in a jewelery cleaner or on the tip of a pencil and spin them around, let them air dry after and add 1 drop of oil.

More will chime in on this one.

Doc Reel Good
Angler
Angler

Post by Doc Reel Good » Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:26 am

I use naptha, you can get it at your local hardware. Pour about a half inch into a clean jar. Soak the bearing for 10 minutes, spin it and put it back in the jar. Soak for 10 minutes, spin it. Blow it out or let it sit on a paper towel for 20 minutes. Lube it up.

shimdailoomis
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Post by shimdailoomis » Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:29 am

ChuckE........you want to chime in?

Vladimir_Kazan
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Post by Vladimir_Kazan » Mon Apr 17, 2006 6:18 am

I shall use sequentially mineral spirit ("white-spirit" - net, most light kerosene), thin oil and basic lubricant.