What's your Dark Sleeper rod?

A specialized forum to discuss anything and everything about your favorite or not so favorite fishing rods.
LowRange
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

What's your Dark Sleeper rod?

Post by LowRange » Tue Jun 01, 2021 8:26 pm

I'm just getting into these baits. Threw a 3/8 oz one seriously for the 1st time today and caught a bunch of bass and even a flathead catfish. I've been bottom hopping and skipping under docks with the bait. Works great. They had been crushing wacky worms around docks but that died off after me hammering them day in and day out for 2 weeks. Switched to the dark sleeper and they ate it.

I've been using my gen 1 Zodias 72M paired to a Tatula Type R with Rays Long cast spool and 12# suffix flouro and it has been great. It's a mod fast that's on the beefier side of M that casts and works the bait well. I feel like I am losing way more fish than I should when they jump but I'm not sure if that is the nature of the bait or the rod.

I plan to use the Orochi x4 711 for the 1 oz baits.

BRONZEBACK32
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Re: What's your Dark Sleeper rod?

Post by BRONZEBACK32 » Tue Jun 01, 2021 8:53 pm

I use a 843 NRX but sold that rod, I will now be using a GLX 892 with the smaller size 1/4oz

antisaint
Angler
Angler

Post by antisaint » Tue Jun 01, 2021 9:52 pm

A megabass brigand for for 1/2 ounce and a diawa steez bottom contact for 3/4 to 1 ounce.

i_am_R2
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Post by i_am_R2 » Tue Jun 01, 2021 10:14 pm

I use either my Levante Enforcer or 843 GLX MBR.

Drakestar
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Post by Drakestar » Tue Jun 01, 2021 10:19 pm

Zbone 733, GLX 843 MBR, K2 714... pretty much any bottom contact rod that fishes in that 1/4-3/4oz range. For 1oz Dark Sleepers I might step up a power, but they generally fish lighter than their weight, anyway.

LowRange
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Post by LowRange » Wed Jun 02, 2021 6:27 am