The end all beat all Shimano DC system

Reels are the hottest topic for TackleTour. Everyone wants to know what the latest and greatest is and how they compare to the old guard. What's the best for light stuff, or what's your suggestion for heavy cover. Do we really need different retrieve ratios? It's all in here.
LowRange
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

The end all beat all Shimano DC system

Post by LowRange » Sun Dec 12, 2021 9:12 pm

Shimano noob here. I have like 3 total and none are DC reels
For years I heard of the legendary casting abilities of the Antares DC and when newer DC reels were introduced I heard how they were "watered down", "over braked" or just "not the same" as the original legend.

Long story short: I want to add another Shimano to the arsenal and I want a DC reel too so why not make my next Shimano a DC reel? I also want to locate a reel for a future enthusiast chatterbait and spinnerbait rig. Why not combine all of this into a single combo and slap a DC Shimano onto a Valkaryie MH or something? This is my line of thinking.

So, what is the end all beat all DC Shimano for casting these baits including right into the wind? Are the old reels really better than the new ones?

Shadowcaster1969
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Re: The end all beat all Shimano DC system

Post by Shadowcaster1969 » Sun Dec 12, 2021 10:25 pm

It depends on which casting performance characteristics is most important to you.

If anti-backlash for casting into a head wind with low density lure is what you are looking for, then all DC reels with the correct DC setting will do the job for you. But the earlier models do constraint your casting distance precisely because of this anti baclash control, unless you are casting very high density lead or tungsten jigs.