Steez A with TD-Z 103 spool

Reels are the hottest topic for TackleTour. Everyone wants to know what the latest and greatest is and how they compare to the old guard. What's the best for light stuff, or what's your suggestion for heavy cover. Do we really need different retrieve ratios? It's all in here.
78Staff
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Steez A with TD-Z 103 spool

Post by 78Staff » Fri Jul 01, 2022 8:42 pm

I don't know if it's me, but this combo is a nightmare to use for some reason. Have it setup with 40lb braid for a swim jig rig in the grass, and I've backlashed it to the point of cutting out line the last three times on the water :(. Now, I am no pro, but I don't backlash reels very often, so I assuming this is just not a good combo of reel/magnet setup/spool, or maybe I just have something amiss in the reel setup, but I am going to have to change that spool out for something else. Usually a big TD-Z 100/103/R+ spool fan, but for whatever reason it's just not working for me in the Steez A. Might switch to a Zillion SV, or more likely a RC-001

Anyone else throwing a TD-Z 103 spool (yellow inductor) in a Steez A and seem similar results?

dragon1
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Re: Steez A with TD-Z 103 spool

Post by dragon1 » Fri Jul 01, 2022 10:28 pm

When I had a Steez A LH for a few months, I dropped in a TD-ito Type R spool and I think it was a slightly better option than the factory spool for baits sub 3/8, but honestly it did not outperform the G1 Zillion SV spool. I don't have the ZPI M spool, but I hear it is magical in the Steez A with braid. I do have a Morethan 1000 PE SV 8.6 on the way, so I will try installing the ZPI PG spool in it to see how it performs, along with a Type R+.

Good luck.
"It is like a finger pointing away to the Moon...don't concentrate on the finger, or you will miss all of that heavenly glory."

78Staff
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Post by 78Staff » Sat Jul 02, 2022 5:56 am