Any Good Newer Topwater Lures?

From crankbaits to jerkbaits to wakebaits and more, TackleTour's new hardbait sub-forum has been a long time coming. Well, now your wait is over!
MK49
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Any Good Newer Topwater Lures?

Post by MK49 » Sun Sep 11, 2022 6:47 pm

I bought a dozen of new (to me) topwater baits this year, and none of them caught fish. The fishing is super tough this year, but the same old lures like Megabass Giant Dog X, Evergreen Shower Blows, Heddon Meadow Mouse, Lucky Craft Gun Fish, OSP Yamato Jr, Paycheck Repo Man, Daiwa TD Pencil... still catch fish. Those are the baits that I've been using for at least 10 years, up to 25~30 years.

Have you found any relatively new good topwater baits? I haven't found any. The newest ones that work for me are Shower Blows 105 and Yamato Jr, which came out about 12 years ago.

The list of the newer lures I bought in this year.

- Booyah Prank
- Berkley Cane Walker
- Evergreen Shower Blows 77.7 (105 is great.)
- Evergreen JT
- Imakatsu Metal Mouse
- Yo-zuri 3DB Popper
- Yo-zuri 3DB Prop
- Spro Cyclone Prop Jr
- River2Sea Whopper Plopper 90 (I've been using the bigger one for at least 10 years.)
- Duo Realis Pencil 100 (I've been using the 110 for about 12 years. And, it's one of my favorites, but 100 is different.)
- Fish Lab Bio Shad
- Storm Arashi Cover Pop
- Bagley Pro Sunny Prop

I haven't even gotten a bite on these, except one bite on the small Whopper Plopper. Some of them, especially Evergreen JT look and move pretty good, and I should catch fish, but I haven't. I started feeling like I should stop buying newer lures. But, that sucks, because it's always cool to find new favorite baits.

Oh, BTW, I've heard the walking baits are very unpupular now in Japan. Maybe, that's why Japanese companies stopped designing new walking baits? They do release smaller sizes, but not many new walking baits. Or, it's basically the same old baits, and not much more to improve?

DirtyD64
Pro Angler