NEWBIE/Beginner's Guide

How small is your rod and how light is your line? It's not about the size of your tackle, but how you work it. Come share your Ultralight and Bait Finesse System (BFS) fishing success here!

Is this post helpful?

Poll ended at Thu Nov 01, 2012 9:32 pm

Yes
50%
No
No votes
I can't believe I wasted my time reading this
50%

Total votes: 2

Justin
Newbie Angler
Newbie Angler

NEWBIE/Beginner's Guide

Post by Justin » Tue Oct 02, 2012 9:32 pm

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie here, and looking to get into UL, bridging over from saltwater fishing. I mainly sought to get into UL, so I could take some light tackle while traveling/camping, so I can spend more time fishing. There is a lot of really good info on this site, and I'm hoping we could start a "Beginner" thread that could help new people like me get started. Maybe it could even be a sticky at the top of this area. I'm looking for a good basic set up, that will require minimal investment in gear. Then, as I enjoy the sport more, and face more challenging conditions, I could add to my arsenal. And yes, I understand like any sport, you can get cheap stuff that's crap, and really good stuff for a lot of money. I'm on a working man's budget and am looking for basic, no frills go-to stuff that's proven to work, kind of like my old Chevy Truck. This isn't the thread to talk about the $300 rod with a $200 reel filled with $25 worth of line.

Reel-Currently I have a Shakespeare model 20, that I got a screaming deal on at Bass Pro. It seems good enough to start with. Any thoughts?

Rod-Since travel is in mind, I'd like something that will work well with the above reel, break down into 2 or three sections and fit in a suitcase or carry on in a tube-type protector