BFS Blanks for T Rig?

When production rods are not enough, it's time to go custom. Come share your experiences building and/or ordering a custom rod and tell us if you'll ever go back to off the shelf.
voopvoop
Newbie Angler
Newbie Angler

BFS Blanks for T Rig?

Post by voopvoop » Mon Sep 14, 2020 3:07 pm

Howdy! So I’m obviously new to the forum but not new to fishing or building stuff. I’m a machinist/mold maker that works in the firearm industry. When I’m not designing an injection mold, tweaking product design, or making chips I’m probably fishing.

I think I have decided that my latest hobby is going to be rod building. I tend to go a little all in on hobbies and I tend to be a little wild when it comes to designs and materials so I’m excited to step into this world.

Anyways I’ll probably start out by making some simple rods to get my feet wet and figure out the basics but after that my main goal is making a true American Made BFS rod.

I’m thinking something I can sling a 3” senko weightless T Rigged with enough backbone to actually set the hook.

I am currently using one of those Kuying Teton rods with an ASC and it’s fun but I have been targeting smallmouth and really the hookset could use some meat behind it.

So any suggestions on true BFS profile blanks that are available stateside? I don’t care about origin of manufacture.

Thanks!

Hobie-Wan Kenobi
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Re: BFS Blanks for T Rig?

Post by Hobie-Wan Kenobi » Mon Sep 14, 2020 6:22 pm

North Fork Composites makes some good blanks. Their X-Ray series has a light blank that may fit your needs. The St Croix Legend Elite 7' Lite is a nice finesse smallmouth rod too. Has a soft tip with a decent backbone to set the hook.
IG @hobie_wan_kenobi_fishing

Hogsticker2
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Post by Hogsticker2 » Mon Sep 14, 2020 7:55 pm